Passport Help

All the Resources You Need for Your Indian Passport.

What is the ECR (Emigration Check Required) and non-ECR/ECNR (Emigration Check Not Required) Stamp on Indian Passport?


ECR Stands for Emigration Check Required. It is stamped on the Passports of people who’s educational qualification is below 10th Pass. A person with ECR Stamp in their Passport cannot leave India on work visa (for employment) from these 17 Countries: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Brunei, Kuwait, Indonesia, Iraq (Emigration banned), Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Sudan, Syria, Saudi Arabia (KSA), Thailand, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Yemen.

For working in these countries, if one has an ECR Stamp, she or he needs to obtain a Emigration clearance from POE (Protector of Emigrants – Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs).


It’s main purpose is to protect these Indians from becoming helpless while working in the above-mentioned countries as they will not be able to help themselves.


Even if one isn’t 10th Pass, below is a list of other criteria which can make her/him eligible for Non-ECR (ECNR), this data is taken from: (as on March 2017)

Persons on whose passports ECR stamp would not be affixed (as per MEA – CPV – Division – Guidelines):


  1. All holders of Diplomatic / Official Passports.
  2. All Gazetted Government servants.
  3. All Income-tax payers (including Agricultural Income-tax payees) in their individual capacity.
  4. All professional degree holders, such as Doctors holding M.B.B.S. degrees or Degrees in Ayurved or Homeopathy; Accredited Journalists; Engineers; Chartered Accountants; Lecturers; Teachers; Scientists; Advocates etc.
  5. Spouses and dependent children of category of persons listed from (2) to (4).
  6. All persons having educational qualification of matriculation and above.
  7. Seamen who are in possession of CDC or Sea Cadets, Desk Cadets (i) who have passed final examination of three year B.Sc. Nautical Sciences Courses at T.S. Chanakya, Mumbai; and  (ii) who have undergone three months Pre-sea training at any of the Government approved Training Institutes such as T.S. Chanakya, T.S. Rehman, T.S. Jawahar, MTI (SCI) and NIPM, Chennai after production of identity cards issued by the Shipping Master, Mumbai/Calcutta/ Chennai.
  8. Persons holding permanent immigration Visas, such as the visas of UK, USA and Australia.
  9. Persons possessing two years’ diploma from any institute recognized by the National Council for Vocational Training (NCVT) or State Council of Vocational Training (SCVT) or persons holding three years’ diploma/equivalent degree from institutions like Polytechnics recognized by Central/State Governments.
  10. Nurses possessing qualification recognized under the Indian Nursing Council Act, 1947.
  11. All persons above the age of 50 years.
  12. All persons who have been staying abroad for more than three years (the period of three years could be either in one stretch or broken) and their spouses.
  13. All children up to the age of 18 years of age. (At the time of re-issue at the age of 18 years, ECR stamping shall be done, if applicable).



Click here to Jump to this Step in Online Passport Application Form Filling Guide




We are not related to Ministry of External Affairs or Passport Department; this site has been created for the sole purpose of providing help in the procedures related to Indian passport. We are in no way related to any passport office and whether your application will be accepted depends on you. In case you still need help, please call 1800-258-1800, the official free helpline of India’s Passport Department.

View My Stats